RAP & REMIX

Before this class, I had no earthly idea what remix was. Despite my familiarity with rap music (ok, I’m not that familiar with rap), I had no prior knowledge of remixed works. I had no idea that it was even legal to snip other’s works and make them your own (which is super rad). After reading the materials from class, I learned that remix does not only apply to music, but film, texts, and analog items as well (turns out I have a “remix” in my room- a vision board collage I made!). In the beginning of Lessig’s book, I learned that copyright laws can be harsh and tedious. I enjoyed Lessig’s explanation on the importance of remix, “remix is collage” (Lessig 76). It is such a simple definition, however, it encompasses what remix is all about-combining bits and pieces into a marvelous composition. I also appreciate that Lessig acknowledges that RO and RW cultures are both significant (Lessig 105-106). Learning about remix and identity actually makes me giddy to compose my own, so I am honestly pumped to start on them!

As far as Lessig’s assertion on all writing being remix, I am half and half. I feel like academic writings are inclined to be “more remixed” due to the amount of references and evidence in them. On the other side, creative writings tend to be more original. When I write a poem, I like to believe that my lines are my own creation. I suppose remix infiltrates most levels of composition though; I think I will have a better idea about this topic after I finish Lessig’s novel and complete this course.

artworks-000080199354-k0yb7m-t500x500

Leave a Reply

