EMILY STEPHENS

IMG_0465
Before I added the final touches.

Reflecting on my personal definition of remix, I made a collage for my self-portrait. My original plan was to conceive a video mash-up of clips that represented me, but my skills were not advanced enough. I resolved to manufacture a collage, since I had experience making my vision board. I collected my photos and words from Bella Grace, Nash Country Weekly, and Brides of Oklahoma magazine. I also printed off some personal photos from my laptop, along with some images I accumulated from Google and my Pinterest account. My focus was to construct a large, analog visual that depicted my personality and passions. I cited all of the photographs; however, citing the words I cut out was hopeless. Elements of my collage that I aimed to stress were my positivity, my love for coffee, and my obsession with Adele and Reba. I incorporated Mamma Chia bottle caps on my foam board to add a 3D aspect and to highlight my zeal. Adding to the 3D feature, I included Starbucks drink stoppers and a coffee sleeve to display my infatuation with caffeine. I think the overall disposition of my collage is amiable, serene, and joyous. My self-portrait will be included in my final three.

IMG_0917
Final collage with added 3D objects attached.

IMG_0918

IMG_0919

IMG_0920

IMG_0921

IMG_0922

Works Cited
Beilner, Melanie. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 113. Print.
BLMG. N.d. Nash Country Weekly. Vol. 23. Nashville: Nash Country LLC, 2016. 2. Print.
Book quote. Digital image. Free Booksy. Free Booksy, n.d. Web. 26 Jan. 2016.
Campbell, Rob, and Julie Campbell. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 134-35. Print.
Danielmirandatattoo. Book Tattoo. Digital image. Instagram. Instagram, 2014. Web. 25 Jan. 2016.
DeVille Catalano, Jennifer. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 54. Print.
Emily, Oklahoma. Personal photograph by author. 2016.
Engagement, Oklahoma. Personal photograph by author. 2015.
Fielden, Ashley. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 93. Print.
Friends, Oklahoma. Personal photograph by author. 2015.
Giloff, Kellene. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 98. Print.
Lewis Jewelers. Brides of Oklahoma Jan. 2016: n. pag. Print.
McLellan, Alasdair. N.d. Adele 25. N.p.: n.p., n.d. N. pag. Print.
Mrtott. Envelope tattoo. Digital image. Bustle. Bustle, 2015. Web. 25 Jan. 2016.
@nan_iga. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 7. Print.
Pinterest. Brides of Oklahoma Jan. 2016: 419. Print.
Plenty Mercantile. Brides of Oklahoma Jan. 2016: 275. Print.
Roman and Marlena. Digital image. FanPop. FanPop, Inc., n.d. Web. 25 Jan. 2016.
Saebjornsen, Hege. N.d. Adele 19. N.p.: n.p., n.d. N. pag. Print.
Smith, Becca. N.d. Bella Grace. Vol. 6. Laguna Hills: Stampington, 2016. 6. Print.
Steve and Kayla. Digital image. FanPop. FanPop, Inc., n.d. Web. 25 Jan. 2016.
Summit. Brides of Oklahoma Jan. 2016: n. pag. Print.
Traina Photography. 2015. Brides of Oklahoma Magazine, Oklahoma. Brides of Oklahoma. N.p.: n.p., 2016. 58. Print.
Waepi, Alexandra. N.d. Adele 25. N.p.: n.p., n.d. N. pag. Print.
Leave a Reply

